Skip to content

On the 26th of Ocotber 1972, the then President of the Republic of Dahomey was deposed in a coup d'etat led by Major Mathieu Kérékou. He deposed a system in which three members of a presidential council would rotate power.  He overthrew the President Justin Ahomadegbé, who was placed in house arrest until 1981 alongside the other members of the presidential governing council who were Hubert Maga and Sourou-Migan Apithy.